MUKE
Content

Within the last few years, Austrian Research & Development activities have been primarily focused on solutions and strategies lowering negative development in the sector of freight traffic. The resulting innovations mostly show solutions for the reorientation of freight traffic flows, but are mostly not implemented due to a lack of implementation and demand. One of the biggest challenges is the discrepancy between the benefits within national economies, but rather a lack of profitability of businesses. Therefore a shift in paradigm concerning the mobility of freight traffic-systems is getting weakened or hindered totally.

MUKE therefore aims at promising but not yet completed research projects. To identify these projects as valuable for implementing innovations, to communicate possible solutions and to recommend further actions will be focused on. Creating a better legal frame, lowering fears of innovative thoughts, displaying cost of logistics more transparent and enhancing awareness among stakeholders should be the main outcome. Active feedback-loops of stakeholders and players will take part in decision-making-processes and further influence solutions, to tighten the acceptance within the logistics sector. As the third and one of the main conclusion of the study, the grading of these measures considering their impact on reaching climate-goals and sustainability aspects, will be stressed upon.

Due to the cooperation with BMK and their ExtraLawMobility-program, knowledge which was generated by MUKE should be assessed and valuated. Within this frame, MUKE delivers first-hand experience regarding the establishment of a new freight traffic-system with high-leverage and low-effort measurements. Follow-up-Projects could include adjustments in statutory provisions, or implementations of climate-goals and sustainability aspects.

Client Republic of Austria, Ministry for Climate Action (BMK) & Austrian Research Promotion Agency (FFG)
Project Partners ­tbw research GesmbH (Project Lead),
University of Economics & Business – Research Institute for Supply Chain Management,
University of Economics & Business – Institute for Public Austrian and European Law
Further Information

Project Duration March 2020 to March 2021
Services of tbwr Projectdevelopment and –organization,
Projectpool-development (Identification of barriers to implement and factors of success within R&D-Projects),
Impact-studies of modified Frameworks,
Evaluation of rebound-effects,
Assistance of interdisciplinary collaboration by project-partners,
Core capabilities: statistical analysis, data processing, traffic-infrastructure and location-assessment, multi-modal accessibility-analysis, strategic concepts of traffic-planning,

MUKE
Projektinhalt

Die Tätigkeiten österreichischer Forschung und Entwicklung haben in den letzten Jahren besonders auf Lösungen und Strategien zur Minderung der negativen Entwicklung im Güterverkehr abgezielt. Die dabei entstandenen Innovationen zeigen zwar meistens Lösungsansätze zur Neuorientierung von Güterverkehrsströmen auf, werden aber meistens aufgrund mangelnder Umsetzung und Nachfrage nicht durchgesetzt. Als großes Hindernis wird die Diskrepanz zwischen zwar großem volkswirtschaftlichem Nutzen, aber mangelnder betriebswirtschaftlicher Rentabilität gesehen, was einen Paradigmenwechsel in Richtung nachhaltigen Gütermobilitätssystem zunehmend verhindert oder abschwächt.

MUKE zielt somit auf erfolgsversprechende, jedoch noch nicht abgeschlossene Forschungsprojekte ab. Diese sollen für die Umsetzung von Innovationen als wertvoll identifiziert und folgend Handlungsempfehlungen sowie Lösungsansätze ausgearbeitet werden. Bessere rechtliche Rahmenbedingungen, Abbau von Innovationsängsten, Transparentmachen tatsächlicher Logistikkosten, sowie der Ausbau von Bewusstseinsbildung soll somit erreicht werden. Aktive Rückkopplungen und Feedbacks von StakeholderInnen und AkteurInnen fließen als Entscheidungskalküle in die Lösungsansätze mit ein und sichern damit die Akzeptanz innerhalb der Logistikbranche. Das dritte wesentliche Ergebnis der Studie stellt die Reihung dieser Maßnahmen nach der Größe des Impacts in Bezug auf Klimaziele bzw. Nachhaltigkeit dar.

Durch die Kooperation mit dem Vorhaben ExtraLawMobility des BMK soll das durch MUKE generierte Wissen verwertet werden. MUKE liefert in diesem Rahmen erste Erkenntnisse darüber in welchen Bereichen mit geringem Aufwand der größte Hebel zur nachhaltigen Neugestaltung des Güterverkehrssystems etabliert werden kann. Nachfolgeprojekte können unter anderem Anpassungen innerhalb der Rechtsvorschriften oder die gezielte In-Wert-Setzung auf Klimaziele bzw. Nachhaltigkeit vielversprechender Innovationen zum Thema haben.

Auftraggebende Bundesministerium für Klimaschutz (BMK) & Forschungsförderungsgesellschaft mbH (FFG)
Projektpartner tbw research GesmbH (Projektleitung),
Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien – Forschungsinstitut für Supply Chain Management,
Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien – Institut für Österreichisches und Europäisches Öffentliches Recht
Weitere Informationen

Projektdauer März 2020 bis März 2021
Leistungen der tbwr Projektabwicklung und –organisation,
Identifikation von Umsetzungsbarrieren und Erfolgsfaktoren von F&E-Projekten,
Wirkungsabschätzung von abgeänderten Rahmenbedingungen,
Abschätzung von Rebound-Effekten,
Gewährleistung der interdisziplinären Zusammenarbeit der Projektpartner,
Inhaltliche Kernkompetenzen: Statistische Analyse, Datenaufbereitung, Verkehrsinfrastruktur und Standortbewertung, multimodale Erreichbarkeitsanalyse, strategische Verkehrsplanungskonzepte