ULTIMOB
Content

In view of the climate crisis, a radical rethink is required in many areas of the mobility system. ULTIMOB is a broad-based research project within the framework of the 'Mobility of the Future' programme of the Federal Ministry of Transport, Innovation and Technology. The title 'ULTIMOB' stands for 'Ultimate Integrated Mobility'. The aim is to advance the mobility turnaround, to create necessary new mobility offers and to combine them with existing solutions in a meaningful way. In a broadly diversified project team, mobility solutions that have been lacking so far will be developed, implemented, tested and evaluated in order to show during the project period that the offers are practical and effective in the sense of the mobility turnaround.

Instead of only striving for ever new technical solutions to solve existing challenges in the mobility system, ULTIMOB deliberately focuses on the users and the external framework ('governance'). Especially in these areas, it is important to overcome obstacles, create trust and find new models for cooperation, because digital services alone are not able to compensate for missing physical mobility options (e.g. insufficient connections / clock frequencies in public transport). Another way to more cooperation is 'MaaS' ('Mobility as a Service'): ULTIMOB will support the initiative 'MaaS made in Austria' of the Austrian Federal Ministry of Transport, Innovation and Technology (BMVIT) in order to position the topic in Austria in a sustainable way and in terms of social added value.

All ideas, concepts and solutions developed in ULTIMOB are tested under real conditions and with the involvement of the respective users. For this purpose, four representative pilot regions (Greater Area of Salzburg , Graz, Tullnerfeld and Ötztal) were defined, which address pressing challenges in everyday traffic as well as in tourist mobility.

Client Republic of Austria, Ministry for Climate Action (BMK) & Austrian Research Promotion Agency (FFG)
Project Partners ­­tbw research GesmbH (Project Lead),
netwiss OG,
Research Studios Austria Forschungsgesellschaft mbH,
TU Wien - Fachbereich für Verkehrssystemplanung,
Universität für Bodenkultur - Institut für Verkehrswesen,
Salzburger Verkehrsverbund GmbH,
PLANUM Fallast Tischler & Partner GmbH,
SDC Smart Digital Concepts GmbH,
Klimabündnis Österreich GmbH,
Universität Innsbruck - Institut für Infrastruktur, Arbeitsbereich Intelligente Verkehrssysteme,
Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien - Institute for Ecological Economics,
TU Graz - Institut für Straßen- und Verkehrswesen,
Ötztaler Verkehrsgesellschaft m.b.H.,
Verkehrsverbund Tirol GesmbH,
ummadum Service GmbH,
Marktgemeinde Feldkirchen,
FH OÖ Forschungs & Entwicklung GmbH,
SHS GesbR
Further Information Project Homepage (german only)

Project Duration September 2019 to August 2023
Services of tbwr Project-leadership, -management and Workload-leadership,
Supervision of the pilot-region Graz and its vicinity as well as monitoring of the three other pilot-regions,
Development of the TNG-Process,
Analysis of the overall impact on Austria

ULTIMOB
Projektinhalt

Angesichts der Klimakrise ist in vielen Bereichen des Mobilitätssystems ein radikales Umdenken gefordert. ULTIMOB ist ein breit angelegtes Forschungsprojekt im Rahmen des Programms 'Mobilität der Zukunft' des Bundesministeriums für Verkehr, Innovation und Technologie. Der Titel 'ULTIMOB' steht für 'Ultimative Integrierte Mobilität'. Es geht darum, die Mobilitätswende voranzubringen, notwendige neue Mobilitätsangebote zu schaffen und diese mit bestehenden Lösungen sinnvoll zu kombinieren. In einem breit gestreuten Projektteam werden bislang fehlende Mobilitätslösungen entwickelt, umgesetzt, getestet und evaluiert, um noch während der Projektlaufzeit zu zeigen, dass die Angebote praxistauglich und im Sinne der Mobilitätswende wirksam sind.

Anstatt nur nach immer neuen technischen Lösungen zu streben, mit denen bestehende Herausforderungen im Mobilitätsystem gelöst werden sollen, richtet sich das Augenmerk in ULTIMOB bewusst auf die NutzerInnen und die äußeren Rahmenbedingungen ('Governance'). Gerade in diesen Bereichen gilt es Hürden zu überwinden, Vertrauen zu schaffen und neue Modelle für die Zusammenarbeit zu finden, denn digitale Angebote alleine sind nicht in der Lage, fehlende physische Mobilitätsoptionen auszugleichen (z.B. ungenügende Verbindungen / Taktfrequenzen im ÖV). Ein weiterer Weg zu mehr Kooperation führt über ‚MaaS‘ ('Mobilität als Dienstleistung'): hier wird sich ULTIMOB im Rahmen der Initiative ‚MaaS made in Austria‘ des bmvit, dafür einsetzen, das Thema in Österreich nachhaltig und im Sinne eines gesellschaftlichen Mehrwerts zu positionieren.

Alle in ULTIMOB entwickelten Ideen, Konzepte und Lösungen werden unter Realbedingungen und Einbeziehung der jeweiligen NutzerInnen getestet. Dazu wurden vier repräsentative Pilotregionen (Großraum Salzburg, Graz Umgebung, Tullnerfeld und Ötztal) definiert, die drängende Herausforderungen sowohl im Alltagsverkehr als auch in der touristischen Mobilität adressieren.

Auftraggebende Bundesministerium für Klimaschutz (BMK) & Forschungsförderungsgesellschaft mbH (FFG)
Projektpartner ­tbw research GesmbH (Konsortialführung),
netwiss OG,
Research Studios Austria Forschungsgesellschaft mbH,
TU Wien - Fachbereich für Verkehrssystemplanung,
Universität für Bodenkultur - Institut für Verkehrswesen,
Salzburger Verkehrsverbund GmbH,
PLANUM Fallast Tischler & Partner GmbH,
SDC Smart Digital Concepts GmbH,
Klimabündnis Österreich GmbH,
Universität Innsbruck - Institut für Infrastruktur, Arbeitsbereich Intelligente Verkehrssysteme,
Wirtschaftsuniversität Wien - Institute for Ecological Economics,
TU Graz - Institut für Straßen- und Verkehrswesen,
Ötztaler Verkehrsgesellschaft m.b.H.,
Verkehrsverbund Tirol GesmbH,
ummadum Service GmbH,
Marktgemeinde Feldkirchen,
FH OÖ Forschungs & Entwicklung GmbH,
SHS GesbR
Weitere Informationen Projekthomepage

Projektdauer September 2019 bis August 2023
Leistungen der tbwr Projektleitung, -management und Arbeitspaket-Leitung,
Betreuung der Pilotregion Graz Umgebung und Begleitung der anderen drei Pilotregionen,
Entwicklung des TNG-Prozess,
Analyse des Gesamt-Impacts auf Österreich